uefa Euro 2020 final

uefa Euro 2020 final

The uefa euro 2020 final falls under the UEFA European Football Championship commonly known as the European Championship (EC) and informally as the Euro. It is the most common football competition association contested in Europe. The competitors are senior men’s national teams who have membership in the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). In the world of sports and football in particular, this championship is aimed at revealing the European continental champion. Since its start in 1960, the competition is been held after every four years with the only exception being the missed 2020 season owing to the COVID-19 pandemic in the world and in Europe particularly. Scheduled from its creation to take place during the even-numbered year between various FIFA World Cup tournaments, UEFA Euro was initially called the European Nations’ Cup. This name was changed in 1968 and has since remained the same. Individually, the events are branded as “UEFA Euro [year]“.

uefa Euro 2020 final

Unlike other football tournaments, the hosting country for the European Championship is automatically qualified. The other teams for the game get to undergo a qualifier stage.

uefa Euro 2020 Qualification

Before 2016, the championship winner of the previous season could go in for the next FIFA confederations though not compulsory.

The UEFA Euro 2020 final is the last corner of the championship and can only be hoped for after European national teams qualify for the competition. For this to occur, each team must win a play-off or end up in one of the qualifying spots. This phase of qualification practically occurs nearly two years before the finals, exactly in autumn preceding the FIFA World Cup.

Utilizing seeding, the UEFA committee draws the various qualification groups. As previously mentioned, the seeded teams comprise the current champions and other teams selected. The performance of these teams in the preceding FIFA World Cup alongside the last European championship qualifier is the considered criteria. A ranking based on the cumulative number of points earned (points per game) by the teams is produced to obtain an accurate perspective of the teams’ abilities. For a team that automatically qualifies, their result from the most recent qualifying game is used for the ranking. In the case where two teams have a tie in their number of points per game, the UEFA committee makes use of the following to position the teams:

  1. Coefficient derived from the games played in the most recent qualifying competition.
  2. Average goal difference.
  3. Average number of goals recorded.
  4. Average number of away goals recorded.
  5. Drawing of lots.
ALSO READ:  Davido Will Buy Uganda To Free Omah Lay And Tems

The qualifying stage is played in a group format whereby the selection of the groups is determined from pre-defined seeded bowls. This draw occurs after the preceding qualifying World Cup’s competition. This year, the UEFA Euro 2020 group qualifying phase was made of ten groups; five of five teams and the remainder of six teams each.

Played in a league format, teams in each group play one another at home and away. For the final tournament, the best two qualify while the others get ranked according to playoffs in the UEFA Nations League. As with most football competitions, three points are earned for a win, one for a draw and, none for a loss game. After all the matches have been played, if two or more teams have equal points, the criteria below are used to separate them:

  1. Greater points obtained by the teams in question during the group matches phase.
  2. Superior goal difference among the said teams during the group matches.
  3. Higher number of goals recorded in the group matches played by the said teams.
  4. Higher number of goals recorded away from home in the group matches played among the said teams.
  5. Overall results of group matches including fair play conduct.
  6. Drawing of lots.

uefa Euro host countries

1960: France
1964: Spain
1968: Italy
1972: Belgium
1976: Yugoslavia
1980: Italy
1984: France
1988: West Germany
1992: Sweden
1996: England
2000: Belgium and Netherlands
2004: Portugal
2008: Austria and Switzerland
2012: Poland and Ukraine
2016: France

As opposed to all other years of the Euro games, the venue for the UEFA Euro 2020 final was just one of the 11 European nations chosen to host the competition. This was as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic which has since its outbreak imposed certain safety measures. With its kick-off which took place on June 11th in Rome, the final of this prestigious game occurs on July 11th in London.

ALSO READ:  Biggy237 Top House Runners And Eviction

Final tournament-uefa Euro 2020 final

Sixteen teams attained the final tournament for the 2012 Euro games while 24 were registered for the UEFA Euro 2020 tournament and divided into six groups.  

Here again, the groups played in a league format with each team playing its opponents just once. The points system mentioned above is applied here too: three points for a win, one point for a draw, zero points for a defeat. A schedule for the group matches was drawn up, with the exception of the last two matches in a group which must kick off simultaneously. The winner and runner-up of each group move on to the next stage for the knockout. The two teams play each other once, the winner advances; this is applied in all subsequent stages as well. The winners of the quarter-finals games move on to the semi-finals, the winners from the latter play go in for the final. To bring out a winner at any stage of the knockout rounds, additional time and penalties are made use of to separate the two teams. In contrast to the FIFA World Cup, the Euro Championship no longer has a third place playoff.

The fifteen Euro Championship tournaments have over the years been won by ten national teams among which Germany and Spain with three titles each. France which was disqualified prior to the eighth UEFA Euro 2020 final has won two titles while the Soviet UnionItalyCzechoslovakia, the NetherlandsDenmarkGreece and Portugal each have a title. To date, Spain is the only country to have won consecutive titles in 2008 and 2012. With a global audience of about 300 million watching live the UEFA Euro 2020 final, the EURO Championship is the second-most-watched football completion worldwide after the FIFA World Cup. Sad to acknowledge but the finalists of the 2016 Euro games, Portugal and France ended the 2020 Euro games before the quarter final stage.  

ALSO READ:  Fame Means Nothing As Uganda Police Arrest Omah lay and Tems


Friday 2 July

QF1: Switzerland vs Spain (18:00, St Petersburg)
QF2: Belgium vs Italy (21:00, Munich)

Saturday 3 July

QF3: Czech Republic vs Denmark (18:00, Baku)
QF4: Ukraine vs England (21:00, Rome)

Rest days on 4 and 5 July


Tuesday 6 July

SF1: Winner QF2 vs Winner QF1 (21:00, London)

Wednesday 7 July

SF2: Winner QF4 vs Winner QF3 (21:00, London)

Rest days on 8, 9, 10 July


Sunday 11 July

Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (21:00, London)

The dates provided above were revised and approved by the UEFA Executive Committee on 17 June 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, UEFA EURO 2020 was postponed in March 2020. The revised venues were approved on April 23rd 2021 by the UEFA Executive Committee.

While we await the final celebration and some music, keep track of all fixtures and results of the UEFA EURO 2020 from June 11th and July 11th 2021 HERE.

Follow me on social media:
Hello everyone! I am Shuri Fuh Maouline, founder of shurilifestyle, a Cameroonian based in Douala, Littoral. I blog about routines, motherhood, lifestyle, travel, relationship, food, and drinks. I enjoy sharing my little experiences and ideas and I hope that through this medium I will be able to give helpful tips and answer some of your questions. Feel free to correct me, comment and ask your questions via the comments section or by email via